Skip to content

Clyde Carlson Winter Fest and Annual Banquet / Meeting with Elections

For this year’s Winter Fest, Low Gross and Net of Field were Dave Foreman (38) and Lee Jones (32), respectively. They have the honor of getting their names on the Clyde Carlson trophy. They are pictured here after Lee presented Dave with the Net Match Play Champion trophy for 2018. There were a variety of honey pots and 25 contestants at the tournament. For complete results, click here => 20190119 Clyde Carlson or visit using GGID “jax_se”.

Dave Foreman and Lee Jones

The banquet / meeting was at member Cory Rockey’s Bad Albert’s Tap & Grill in Ballard. The food was great and the seating lent itself to socializing. Pictures are courtesy of James Bucher, and more are at the end of the post.

Bad Albert’s


Nick Cail, Erik and Dan Petersen

Doug Jones, Rob MacLeod, Mike Mardesich, and Jay Clark








President Jeff Schoening noted that 2018 was a special year thanks to the expanded tournament schedule for Tuesday mornings and Thursday evenings. The result was the club paid out for all its tournaments $23,589 in prize money, over $6,000 more than the previous year, and doubled tournament participation, from 521 to 1,040. In 2019, the club is adding two new match play tournaments–senior gross and flighted gross, as well as using pods of four people to start the net tournament. More announcements to come about the match play tournaments.

We heard from the special guests: Ryan Whitney, OB Sports Director of Operations, Kathy Wake, General Manager at Jackson Park, and Greg Van Hollebeke, Jackson Park Golf Course Maintenance Supervisor. Clyde Carlson was not able to join us this year. Club historian Dick Rovig attended. He and Dan Puetz Sr are doing research for more articles on Jackson Park. John Clements and Dave Foreman were honored for their aces the past year. Lee Jones and Dan Puetz said they are working on identifying trouble areas on the course where local rules may be needed.

Cory Rockey, Ryan Whitney, Kathy Wake, Greg Van Hollebeke, and Jeff Schoening

Elections were held, and everyone on the ballot was elected by acclimation:

President            Walt Dickhoff                                         Vice President   Lee Jones
Secretary            Mark Ohrenschall                                 Treasurer            Dave Foreman
Even-year Trustee           Cory Rockey
Odd-year Trustees          Brock Bowen, Nick Cail, Rob MacLeod, Dan Puetz, Sr, Jeff Schoening, Reid Swick

This meeting marks major changes to the Board of Trustees, with a new president and treasurer, new tournament and handicap chairman, four new trustees, and the retirement of longtime board member John Clements. John says he plans to keep his post as New Member Liaison and play in more tournaments than ever. Jason Hart completed three stellar years as Tournament and Handicap Chairman as well as Seattle Cup captain, and now will continue to serve and guide the club as a trustee.

Vice president Lee Jones and Treasurer Mark Ohrenschall return to their posts, as does Trustee Nick Cail. Dan Puetz Sr and Jeff Schoening will be trustees again, Jeff taking on the tournament and handicap chairs and Dan continuing as Junior Tournament Director. James Bucher will be taking on the tournament director responsibilities for Thursday’s tournaments, with an assist from Brock Bowen.

Thanks to those who have served the Men’s Club and are leaving these positions:

John Clements – trustee and more for twenty-one years
Jeff Schoening – president for four years, now a trustee and tournament & handicap chair
Jason Hart – tournament and handicap chair for three years, still a trustee
Dan Puetz Sr – treasurer for three years, past president for four years, now a trustee
Roger Brown – trustee for three years
Mark Persinger – trustee for two years
Walt Dickhoff – trustee for one year, now president
David Foreman – trustee for one year, now treasurer

After the formal meeting was adjourned, we had a fun and successful raffle and auction with many hotly sought prizes.

Walt Dickhoff, new president

Lee, Jeff, Dick


Dick Rovig, Dave Foreman, and Dan Puetz, Sr


Brock Bowen


Mark Ohrenschall, waitperson, Reed Johnson, Mel Wattula


Travis Jones, Kathy Wake, Ryan Whitney


Walt Dickhoff, Rob MacLeod, and Brian Asplund, on #7, photo courtesy of Jeff Schoening


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *